03 - Sensory awareness

This is an introduction to sensory awareness with practical strategies to become more attuned with your senses.

The sensory system is made up of 8 senses.

5 of these are quite commonly known as touch, taste, hearing, smell and vision. The other 3 include interoception, vestibular and proprioceptive.

Interoception – body’s internal state. The sense that provides us with information of how we feel (alerted/grounded) about the stimuli from other senses

Vestibular – movement sense (inner ear system)

Proprioception – feedback we receive through our joints and helps us be aware of our bodies in relation to space.

Sensory profiling types - seeker/avoider/bystander - changes throughout life stages and experiences.

According to the polyvagal theory suggested by Dr Stephen Porges, the Sympathetic NS and Social NS must be engaged in order to tone down the Parasympathetic NS. Engagement of the SoNS helps to activate the vagal brake on the heart rate which slows down the reactivity of being in the SNS. This then allows the ability to self-soothe. The vagus nerve (Cranial nerve X) has 80% of its fibres being sensory. Therefore, becoming more aware of how our sensory system works and understanding the perception of the event will allow us to develop appropriate sensory (body based) and cognitive strategies (mind based) (mind-body connection) that will enable us to better self-soothe. This in turn will help build positive self-image, leading to healthier relationships and engagement in meaningful life roles.

More information can be found:

Website: www.lifability.com

Program: ⁠Sensory Modulation | Lifability